This is some follow up information relating a conversation that was had in IDEL a few weeks ago, where I said I’d find out for sure how long students have access to WebCT courses after the end of the semester in which the course was run. I thought others might also want to know.
Here is the definitive answer, from Information Services:
“registration on a course is permanent, so once a student is placed on a course access to it is retained as long as the username is still active. This is so that students can use “old” courses to revise for exams, and throughout their degree. Access to WebCT is removed along with access to all other services 150 days after the end of the student’s course teaching [ie: when you are no longer a registered student], as set by departments.”